Partners ThroughoutYour Family Law Case

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Firm News
  4.  » Meet Partner Ashley G. Emerson!

Meet Partner Ashley G. Emerson!

On Behalf of | Jun 24, 2019 | Firm News

Q: How long have you been an attorney?
A: I have been an attorney for 7 years.

Q: Have you ever worked in any other areas of the law?
A: I have dedicated my practice exclusively to family law. During and after law school, I did some policy-related work with not-for-profits and government organizations, all of which was related to child welfare. When I decided to transition to the traditional practice of law, I was really only interested in working directly with individuals and families.

Q: What drew you to family law?
A: I have found that my strength is working with people who are going through a difficult time. I am a resolution- oriented person, so having the opportunity to meet people where they are at in the grieving process or in the context of litigation gives me the opportunity to make a real difference in people’s lives. I like that I am helping people daily, even when they are going through an unpleasant process.

Q: What do you enjoy most about family law?
A: One of my favorite aspects of my job is empowering people with information. Divorce, custody battles, and litigation are frightening prospects to face for most people. I enjoy the fact that I can help people experience some relief from their fear of the unknown/ unfamiliar.

Q: What do you think makes you stand out among other professionals?
A: Because I am resolution-oriented, I do not “feed the fight.” I work with my clients to identify their goals and to explore their best options as to how to move forward through their family law matter. Sometimes, this means that we reach resolution outside of court. Sometimes, this means that we need to go in front of a judge and engage in traditional litigation (going to court). I go into every case knowing that it is not the same as the next and that each client has their own unique needs and goals.

Q: Are you originally from Colorado? If so, what do you love most about it? If not, what brought you to Colorado and what do you love most about it?
A: I am originally from Dallas, TX. I went to the University of Missouri for my undergraduate degree and remained in Missouri for most of law school. I transferred to DU Sturm College of Law as a visiting student during my final semester, after spending a summer interning in Denver between my second and final year of law school. I love the mountains, having four distinct seasons, and the people in Colorado. It’s wonderful to live in a place where people are focused on filling their lives with experiences rather than just things.

Q: When you are not working at GEM Family Law, what do you enjoy doing in your free time?
A: I enjoy hiking, gardening, cooking, traveling, gardening, and spending time with my family. My husband is a Denver native, and my parents recently relocated to Denver, so we have the unique benefit of being surrounded by family.

Q: What is something interesting that most people don’t know about you?
A: Most people do not know that I am an artist. I love to draw and paint, although I do not have much time to practice either these days. I spent much of my high school and college careers focusing on developing my skills as an artist and considered a minor in art, before I decided that I wanted to go to law school.

To schedule your free initial consultation with Ashley, call our office at 720-443-4892.