Partners ThroughoutYour Family Law Case

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Firm News
  4.  » Meet Attorney

Meet Attorney

On Behalf of | Oct 5, 2020 | Firm News

Q. How long have you been a practicing attorney?

A. I have been an attorney for 10 years.

Q. Have you ever worked in any areas other than family law?

A. I practiced consumer bankruptcy law and small business law before this. I was also a financial advisor.

Q. What drew you to the practice area of family law?

A. I was drawn to family law after years of swearing that I would never touch this particular practice area, because of what I experienced as a teenager (my parents went through a terrible divorce).  After some time, and after gaining some experience in the area of family law, I found that I can relate to both the children and the parents and offer a unique perspective because of what I went through in my youth. The experience of living through a divorce can be devastating emotionally, physically, and financially. My experiences, as a child of divorce, as an adult who has lived through a number of relationships and experiences, and as an attorney have given me the unique ability to not only empathize with my clients but to anticipate the potential impact that their divorce may have on their children (and therefore how to avoid the same), on their finances, and on them personally.  I enjoy working directly with people who I can help focus on problem solving.

Q. What do you enjoy most about the practice of family law?

A. The best feeling comes from a client telling you that you have made their day better, or they thought that everything was going to be terrible, but you were able to protect them from the fallout. I really enjoy being the ‘Mama Bear’ for my clients and helping them to maintain (or regain) their “sanity” and serenity.

Q. What do you believe sets you apart as a family law professional?

A. I am able to put clients at ease. I am personable, I am able to explain difficult legal concepts in a way that most people can understand clearly and succinctly, and I have a background that allows me to relate to many different people from all walks of life. Also, my background in the business and financial realm really gives me a leg up in understanding the financial intricacies that can arise in family law cases.

Q. Are you originally from Colorado?  If not, where are you from, and what do you love about CO?

A. I am originally from Grand Rapids, MI. After graduating from Michigan State College of Law, I wanted a change of scenery. The lakes in Michigan are beautiful, but the mountains took my breath away the first time I saw them (both because they are beautiful, and because there is no oxygen up here), and I knew that this is where I was going to stay for a very long time.  I spend as much time as possible either in the mountains, or someplace that has a great view of them. I have never felt more at home.

Q. What do you do during your free time, when you are not at GEM Family Law?

A. Just like everyone else in the US, a lot of my free time lately has been spent at home with my husband and my 2 dogs. We have a 7 year old Golden Retriever and a 3 month old Rottweiler mix puppy. Just like everyone else in Colorado, I try to get up to the mountains as often as possible, and when we aren’t living in a COVID world, I love spending my relaxation time with friends and family at different restaurant patios around town, enjoying a good happy hour, and catching up on everyone’s life. I watch a lot of documentaries, and I make sure that I am always learning something.

Q. What is something interesting about you that most people don’t know?

A. I have been a singer my entire life and played tennis and softball throughout college.

Q.  Any other interesting facts?

A. I got married, bought a house, got my tonsils removed, got a new puppy, joined the board of Project Safeguard and started with GEM Family Law all since March 2020 (aka during quarantine/ the global pandemic).